With the word Wine, the alcoholic drink made from fermented grapes comes to mind, which is forbidden in Islam.
Wine, not only used as a drink, but it is recommended for health and also is a popular drink that accompanies and enhances a wide range of cuisines, from the simple and traditional stews to the most sophisticated and complex haute cuisines. For health and cooking! But how a Muslim can consume wine if it is not Halal?
In Japan, finding Halal products has become easier in recent years, but not all of everyday essential products.
Also, if you are not living near a Halal shop, not only you are going to spend a considerable amount of time, but also pay for transportation every time you need to buy something.
Having free time for shopping and transportation cost, are not the only obstacles that Muslims living in Japan have; especially newcomers may spend hours in supermarkets reading foods’ labels to make sure they do not contain Haram ingredients.